“ I The Cat ” ~ on an ailing day ~

I strain to see

With but one eye,

My impulse

Aim’s to spy,

Or entice

Birds or flies,

Out of the sky…

 

I effort yet

With a lame eye, 

Imposed by mites

On a hellish plight,

That may encroach

On lifeline’s sight

And sure as well

My sense of smell…

 

Besieged am I

By acute stress,

As I’ve no way

To so express,

Should I go blind                                                                                         

Or loose my scent,                                                                                         

I’ll ne’er again gaze                                                                                

At a moon that amazed,                                                                                   

Nor sense a morrows’                                                                                  

Night time finds!         

                                              ode to Kallista

The silver grey one is the big Kaspar, and the tortoiseshell one is the somewhat smaller female Kallista.                                                                                                                    ode to Kallista

The silver grey one is the big Kaspar, and the tortoiseshell one is the somewhat smaller female Kallista.

Hard to love, even when Kaspar deposits his 8.5 kilos on you chest at 5:30 or 6 o'clock in the morning with him snorting in your ear, to tell you it's time to get up and prove you're alive .

Hard not to love, even when Kaspar deposits his 8.5 kilos on you chest at 5:30 or 6 o’clock in the morning with him snorting in your ear, to tell you it’s time to get up and prove you’re alive .

16 thoughts on ““ I The Cat ” ~ on an ailing day ~

  1. You did it. The photos are up and the post looks wonderful. I have linked it back to the poem you put on my post, “Home Sweet Homer.” It’s a marvelous poem for a gorgeous cat. Both of them are simply divine. Thank you so much. Paulette

    • You are indeed most welcome, and thanks you dear Paulette for the great and marvellous suggestion. Kind of gives more meaning to the poem for they whose abstract visions are not as effective as others. Jean-Jacques

    • Thank you for the compliment for both the cats and the poem. Kallista the tortoiseshell colour female has an eye problem with her left eye which we were told is genetic. A small dark spot, which grows very slowly causes a slight leak that we treat with medication to stop the leak. It impairs that eye somewhat for now, but will probably cause that eye to go blind eventually. When we discovered the problem some four years ago, had we not been alerted, she could have lost her sight in both eyes, which inspired to write the poem, “I The Cat” at that time. Thank you as well for your interest. JJ

      • Now I am pleased to be able to say thank you to Ela Nagamathu. Actually I was sharing my poem, but a very lovely and talented lady, Paulette Mahurin, the author of “The Persecution of Mildred Dunlop, best selling book and the blog by the same title, asked me to publish both poem and pictures of and for I The Cat, which allowed me to hear from you. A win, win series of events all around for me. Jean-Jacques Fournier

      • Yes, Tara’s Auntie Paw (Paulette) is great like that. Actually, I think we’ve met before when you left a poem on my ‘About’ page. 😀

      • Now that you mention it I too remember, but my memory would have triggered more effectively had the musical sounds of Ela Nagamathu been evidently linked to gita4elamats blog. In any event, let me say that it is a pleasure to meet again. Jean-Jacques Fournier

  2. Lovely poem for your cats. I certainly hope that all is better with the ailing eye but that doesn’t stop them from enjoying life.

    • Thank you again, and yes of course, no more so than we so called humans. I just kind of felt for her as I would for any creature, which in turn inspired the poem. Jean-Jacques Fournier

    • Hey Narelle, I get very little credit for this piece, as it was inspired by Kallista, one of our two MainCoon cats, jumping-jacks both. She was kind of moping around with a bad eye for a while, which cause this little poem to come to life. Thanks for the kind words. Jean-Jacques

Leave a Reply

